AFCON in 10: Ighalo, Egypt & the Record Breakers

In this piece, CAFOnline showcases 10 records from previous 33 editions of the CAF Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON). The 34th edition of the tournament begins on Saturday, January 13th, in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire.


The Teranga Lions of Senegal broke their long-standing jinx in 2022 to win their first Africa Cup of Nations trophy in Cameroon following a disappointing year in 2019.


Côte d’Ivoire have won the Africa Cup of Nations two times in their history. They achieved this feat in 1992 and 2015. On both occasions, they defeated Ghana on penalties.


Three countries, hosts Sudan, Egypt and Ethiopia, took part in the first tournament in February 1957 and there was no qualifying competition.


Ghana have won the Africa Cup of Nations FOUR times in their history. Their last triumph came in 1982 in Libya.


Nigerian International, Odion Ighalo scored 5 goals to emerge as the top scorer in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.


Four players Cameroon’s Samuel Eto’o, Ghanaian duo Asamoah Gyan as well as Andre Ayew and Zambia’s Kalusha Bwalya have scored in SIX different AFCON Tournaments. No players have scored in more editions of the competition than them.


Egypt are the most successful country in the history of the Africa Cup of Nations with seven tittles. They won it in 1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008 and 2010.


Egypt’s Ahmed Hassan and Cameroon’s Rigobert Song hold the record for the most number of AFCON participations, with each player having featured in eight finals tournaments in 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010. This record could be tied by Ghana’s Andre Ayew and Youssef Msakni at Côte d’Ivoire.


Ghana have reached 9 AFCON finals. The Black Stars have won the title four times.


Kalusha Bwayla Joel Tiehi, Santos, Ndaye Mulamba and Andre Ayew have all scored ten goals in the Africa Cup of Nations.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button