13 strikers, 2 ‘Victors’: Super Eagles’ 40-man Provisional Squad for AFCON 2023

Coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria, José Peseiro, has reportedly named 40 players in the provisional list for the Africa Cup of Nations starting in January 2024 in Cote d’Ivoire.

The leaked list includes 13 strikers, including current Africa Player of the Year, Victor Osimhen and Bundesliga club Bayer Leverkusen hotshot, Victor Boniface; 13 defenders, eight midfielders, and six goalkeepers, including three home-based goalkeepers.

Although the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has not given any official confirmation on the list, according to the tournament’s regulations, CAF had given each Member Association qualified for the final tournament up until December 14, to submit a provisional list of no more than 55 players.

Peseiro is expected to announce the final 27-player squad on January 3, 2024, just over a week before Nigeria’s first match against Equatorial Guinea at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium in Abidjan on January 13.

The Super Eagles are drawn in Group A with hosts Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea and Guinea-Bissau.

Super Eagles AFCON 40: The full provisional squad


Francis Uzoho, Adebayo Adeleye, Ojo Olorunleke, Stanley Nwabali, Amas Obasogie, and Christian Nwoke


Ola Aina, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Tyronne Ebuehi, Jamilu Collins, Zaidu Sanusi, Bruno Onyemaechi, William Troost-Ekong, Semi Ajayi, Calvin Bassey, Kenneth Omeruo, Kevin Akpoguma, Chidozie Awaziem, and Jordan Torunarigha.


Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka, Joe Aribo, Alex Iwobi, Alhassan Yusuf, Fisayo Dele-Bashiru, Raphael Onyedika Nwadike, and Kelechi Nwakali.


Victor Osimhen, Victor Boniface, Terem Moffi, Umar Sadiq, Ahmed Musa, Paul Onuachu, Cyriel Dessers, Ademola Lookman, Nathan Tella, Moses Simon, Emmanuel Dennis, Samuel Chukwueze, and Kelechi Iheanacho.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button